Another new beginning? – Summer 2013 Preview

Hello world. We meet again.

The copy & paste preface: Once again, this is in no way a comprehensive preview as there are charts/better alternatives out there on the internet. So what you’ll find below is my watch-list for the Summer 2013 anime season (July-Sept) and why, based on what I’ve “researched”.

This season’s introduction: Lately it seems that Japan has either broke the mould when it comes to “staple” shows, or perhaps the general audience tastes are finally starting to change. What I mean is – WHERE DID ALL THE ROMANCE COMEDY SHOWS DISAPPEAR TO? After doing my “homework”, I was lamenting on the fact that there were hardly any RomCom, then I took a look at last season’s preview and realized I said the same thing. While summer seasons have been traditionally weaker (along with winter), this is not a valid excuse. On the brighter side of things, I have to say that this season’s offerings aren’t lackluster at all. Although only a handful of shows caught my eye initially, upon further scrutiny, there are several intriguing titles that are worth checking out.

The hyped sequels

Monogatari Series Second SeasonMonogatari Series: Second Season

I don’t know how, I don’t know why, but the Monogatari Series has always been one of my top favourites of all-time. It has been a 15 months since Nisemonogatari ended (not counting the 4-episode Neko Black OVA), and it didn’t even feel that long since then. My only main concern is the amount of material SHAFT has to cover, which is roughly 6 LNs over the span of 2-cours. Hopefully the show doesn’t suffer too much from pacing issues. Needless to say, once again people will be arguing over who is the best Monogatari girl (which is Gahara-sama by the way).

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai Megami-henKami nomi zo Shiru Sekai: Megami-hen

Strangely, it has been 2 years since Kaminomi II concluded. For some reason, I remember that a 3rd season (at that time) was highly unlikely. Anyways, The capturing god returns to capture more girls souls. As a non-manga follower, I guess I’m not too irritated over the fact that Manglobe opted to skip straight to the Goddesses arc, which I have heard is the best arc in the whole of TWGOK. I also have a confession to maek, apart from Mr Keima, Elsie and Haqua, I probably don’t remember anyone else. I would really appreciate it if Manglobe would re-introduce the characters/settings to anime watchers and newcomers alike.

High School DxD NewHigh School DxD New

Seriously, whoever comes up with the naming conventions for sequels needs to be fired. I’ve seen periods and exclamation marks being added to titles, but throwing a NEW after it? That’s some next level creativity right there. Sadly, I don’t really have anything too constructive to say about HS:DxD, apart from the fact that I believe this is the only ecchi offering of the season. Let’s just leave it at the fact that HS:DxD actually has decent plot (not PLOT) for its genre, though I’m pretty sure most don’t watch it as their sole reason, if you know what I mean.

The most anticipated non-sequels

DanganronpaDanganronpa: Kibou no Gakuen to Zetsubou no Koukousei – The Animation

Also known as Dangan ronpa. I’m lazy to sum up the premise of the series, but basically this reminds me of Mirai Nikki all over again. It is as simple as – kill, or be killed. Other than that, I know next to nothing, though the supporting cast boasts several high-profile names (Saito Chiwa, Hikasa Yoko, Sawashiro Miyuki), which is always a huge plus point when it comes to choosing for me. Who doesn’t like murder mysteries anyway?

 

 

Kamisama no Inai NichiyoubiKamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi

God has abandoned the world. Hasn’t it always been the case though? I jest. The synopsis ended with the words ‘Just what is going on?”, and indeed – what the hell (pun probably not intended) is going on? Without digging into the original source (light novel), the fact that it is an award-winning title speaks about this adaptation’s potential. Though that said, I’m taking the cautiously optimistic approach for this title. The plot is unique, but with that it also means that anything can happen – for the better or for the worse.

 

The original

Genei wo Kakeru TaiyouGenei wo Kakeru Taiyou

Yup, that was a straight-up copy&paste description of what this show is about. To describe it in my own terms – original, tarot. The art looks decent enough, (most) original stories are always worth giving a watch, since creativity is dying these days – just look at the amount of sequels and adaptations per season. In other words, if the people over at AIC are confident enough to produce an original series amidst the ocean of successful works being adapted, that’s as good as sending out a strong statement. In my own words, Kitamura Eri is playing one of the lead character, nothing else matters!

Everything else

Fatekaleid liner Prisma IllyaFate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya

Um, so this is a spin-off, it’s not dark and gritty unlike the original series, got it. My only real reason for watching this show is probably due to its connection with F/SN. The whole magical girl premise doesn’t tickle my fancy too much but I guess there’s no harm in watching this one, right?

 

 

 

 

Stella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-buStella Jogakuin Koutou-ka C³-bu

I’ll be straightforward with this one, I’m mainly watching Stella for the cast (Kayano Ai, Saito Chiwa, Sawashiro Miyuki). There isn’t a whole lot to expect, nor should one expect too much out of it in the first place. The guns and girls combination might be a plus to some, but personally I’m not too fazed by the military aspect of the series.

 

 

Inu to Hasami wa TsukaiyouInu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou

When I realized I was stretching my limits for this season, I had to make a tough decision between Blood Lad, GATCHAMAN crowds or this. All three were similar in the fact that they all have supernatural elements, and are mostly similar in nature. “When in doubt, check the cast” – that is my golden rule, and it hasn’t failed me thus far. The deciding factor lies in who voices what, to be frank all of them were actually no slouch when it comes to star power, but the tipping point came when I realized that Inoue Marina would be playing the role of a sadist (and no I’m not M). This will be a definite treat for the ears.

Closing thoughts

As the Spring season draws to a close, I realized that I bit off more than one could chew, I could barely keep up with all the shows on a weekly basis (granted there was lots of stuff happening behind the scenes). My watching philosophy has never changed – to watch as little as possible without compromising too much. If that sounds vague, that’s because it is. This season was a slight exception, as I forcibly cut down on the number of shows to watch. The current number stands at 9+2 (Railgun, Shingeki carrying over), the original goal was 10, but like I said – don’t compromise too much.

To wrap this preview up, I know that I’ve been lagging behind (again), due to real-life priorities and in general “stuff happening”. As always I’ll be playing the catch-up game, so stay tuned if my stale posts are of interest. Regarding this upcoming season’s schedule, I already have a rough idea of what to do, relevant updates will be out closer to the start of the season.

About LordLightnDark

Professional troll by day. Enigmatic soul by night. A silent guardian. A watchful protector. A Dark Light. やりたい事とやるべき事が一致する時、世界の声が聞こえる
This entry was posted in Anime, Season Preview and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another new beginning? – Summer 2013 Preview

Leave a Reply

