Back into the fray – Spring 2013 Preview

I’m back. I’m well-rested. I’m ready. Let’s go.

The Preface: Once again, this is in no way a comprehensive preview as there are charts/much better alternatives out there on the internet. So what you’ll find below is my watch-list for the Spring 2013 anime season (April-June) and why, based on what I’ve “researched”.

The Seasonal Introduction: In each season there always “something” that defines it (Ecchi Summer’12, 2-cour Fall’12, Hana Kana Winter’13),  After a cursory glance, this season seems to be pretty heavy on Mecha/Sci-Fi while conversely RomCom/Harem/Ecchi seems to have taken a backseat. Personally I’m a little bummed that the staple genre that is RomCom only has a grand total of 2 offerings, on the other hand it has been awhile since I’ve been hyped for a couple of titles. I haven’t really decided on a format to stick with so I’ll just come up with one on the spot.

The sequels:

OreimoS2Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai.

One of two titles that I’m SUPER HYPED for. Oreimo is finally back after 2.5 years! 2.5 years is a long time in the real world. 2.5 years is an eternity in the world of anime. Kirino is back with Kuroneko! At this point I’m trying to recall why I loved this series so much but I guess I kinda forgot since 2.5 years is really a long time. I partially lied though, I roughly remember K&K’s antics being enjoyable to watch. Incest? I don’t know what you’re talking about..

 

RailgunS2Toaru Kagaku no Railgun S

Two of two titles that I’m ULTRA HYPED for. Railgun is finally back after 3.5 years! Index? Who cares about Index S3 when you can have Railgun S2? Taken from the trailer itself, SHE IS COME BACK! Out of the 4 main girls in Railgun, my allegiance lies with the main heroine Mikoto-sama herself, but I guess the rest are fine too. The only damn thing I can’t get over is..are they seriously 14 years-old? Finally we’re going to get a new fripSide song too. Only My Railgun and Level 5 Judgelight are still one of the “better” anime songs out there. Saa biribiri iku wa yo!

NyarukoS2Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W

The most important hit factor for any comedy is simply – it must be funny. Nyaruko was not only dead funny, but we get to see Kita Eri voicing a male lead. I don’t know too much nor do I give two cents about Cthulu mythology, but I’ll gladly take my slapstick humour along with the various subtle-yet-not-so-subtle-parody references.

 

 

The RomCom:

HennekoHentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko.

Yeah I know, despite having the word hentai in its title, Henneko has nothing to do with hentai (!!). The main draw of Hennko (at least for me) is the YuiKaori casting combination, although I have to also admit I’m a little sick of hearing Kaji Yuki yet again. J.C Staff is handling this, judging by how well Sakurasou was adapted (while overlooking how terribad Little Busters! is), hopefully this adaptation will follow the footsteps of Sakurasou.

 

 

YahariYahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatteiru.

Sometimes while I watch yet another high school RomCom, I can’t help but wonder: “why isn’t my school life this illustrious?” Apathetic male lead gets grouped together with the prettiest girl in the school? Where’s my share of fairness people? Lame jokes aside, there’s not much else to constructively say about this show, other than the fact that it is officially abbreviated as “oregairu”.

 

 

PhotoKanoPhoto Kano

Wait what, there’s some elements of photography in this show? I certainly hope so. With a nearly all-star female cast for Photo Kano, there’s little reason for me not to watch this one. Despite me listing Photo Kano under the RomCom section, I’m not sure if there will be any comedy at all. Therefore the only wish I have is that I want to see some semblance of comedy incorporated, although a pure romance genre is alright with me as well.

 

The Sci-Fi/Mecha:

KarnevalKarneval

Did someone misspell Carnival? Because that was the first thing that came to mind when I saw the title. Karneval to me is one of those: “Eh it looks decent so I’ll watch it” type of show. No other real reason needed, apart from having Kita Eri as one of the supporting cast. Somehow the poster image gives off a “bishounen” vibe when it comes to the male character designs, but that might just be me.

 

 

DALDate A Live

Perhaps Japan needs to hire some foreign talents to name their works, because what in the world does “Date A Live” even mean, or stand for? Strange naming conventions aside, DAL is probably one of the more anticipated titles for this Spring, as there has been quite a lot of buzz and promotion going on about it. Not going to lie, the PVs and artwork looks absolutely gorgeous, so let’s date a live, whatever that might mean.

 

 

Shingeki no KyojinShingeki no Kyojin

Time for a confession. I’m not impressed with the PV nor the premise of Shingeki no Kyojin. It just isn’t to my liking. That being said, I’ve “heard” great things about this piece of award-winning work so I bite the bullet and give this a shot. Oh and dear lord there’s Kaji Yuki and his trademark screaming again. This is going to be a rough ride, or at least I’m inclined to believe it is.

 

 

Suisei no GargantiaSuisei no Gargantia

UroGen is back. The other question to ask is: “Will someone die in Suisei no Gargantia?” If yes, how many? From my initial impressions I’m inclined to believe this is a lighthearted Sci-Fi show but considering UroButcher’s reputation, who knows? Either way, Suisei no Gargantia has to be one of the more anticipated shows.

 

 

 

The dark horse, the sleeper and everything else:

Muromi-sanNamiuchigiwa no Muromi-san

Yukarin playing a mermaid..who loves to drink. This ladies and gentlemen, is why I’m calling it now – that Muromi is going to be the dark horse pick for me, just because my seiyuu senses are tingling. If I’m sorely mistaken I’m going to have to..well when that time comes we shall find out, shall we.

 

 

 

LeviathanZettai Bouei Leviathan

A mobile phone game being adapted? Ok. “Meh” premise and plot. Ok. Hana Kana, Kita Eri, Hayami Saori and Taketatsu Ayana. What sorcery is this? For the casuals and people who are not into seiyuus, this is also known as “god-tier” cast, because an all-star cast is fairly common these days. I’m not even joking here, when I saw the PV I was like: “what the heck is this”, until the cast started appearing before me and my eyes went from o_o to O_O. Leviathan sleeper of 2013 anyone?

 

RDGRDG: Red Data Girl

I swear that P.A Works need to vary their character designs a bit if not they’ll end up being labelled as KyoAni#2. I have yet to watch the pre-air which was already out like a week back or so but the reception seems to feel fairly lukewarm. Thus I’m not expecting RDG to be ground-breaking, mind-blowing, but rather something that is closer to its predecessors Hanasaku Iroha/Tari Tari in terms of “that P.A Works feel”, for a lack of a better way to describe it.

 

 

Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kaku OutbreakHigurashi Outbreak

A remake of Higurashi? Yes please. For one I welcome the better animation (I will never forget this one scene where Rika’s bicycle literally turned a sharp 90 degrees without her pedaling the bicycle at all). For two I remember Higurashi being one of the flagship titles when it comes to the mystery/psychological thriller genre when it first aired way back in 2006 (also remember that anime isn’t quite as widespread back then compared to now). People who aren’t acquainted with the original series might find this one tricky to get into. With the original cast reprising their roles, the original yandere Rena returns, although I’m not sure, and will be sad if Rika doesn’t make her reappearance.

Aku no HanaAku no Hana

Saving the best, or potentially the worse, for the last. Simply put, Aku no Hana is not for the uninitiated, not for the casuals, definitely not for children and minors. From the words of a fellow writer: “After blasting through the manga, I can safely say that this show will definitely challenge even the most experienced and hardened anime fans.” So what makes Aku no Hana so extreme? Apparently the themes and concepts involved revolves around despair, hopelessness. In short, there is no happiness/enjoyment to be gained from watching this. Even so, I’m really intrigued as to how depressing Aku no Hana can be. Again, you’ve been warned.

Closing thoughts: Long story short, I am excited for the start of this season because there are no 2-cour shows that are carrying over, which also translates into 15 brand new shows for me to watch. Of course this also marks my return to writing about anime after a much-needed break past season to sort out some stuff on my end.

As far as my blogging goes, if everything goes well I’ll have an announcement to make soon. If it doesn’t go well then..I’ll have a separate announcement to make. Stay tuned!

About LordLightnDark

Professional troll by day. Enigmatic soul by night. A silent guardian. A watchful protector. A Dark Light. やりたい事とやるべき事が一致する時、世界の声が聞こえる
This entry was posted in Anime, Season Preview and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

