Danny Choo’s talk about Japanese Language 17.11.12

Title isn’t that fanciful, but anyway this talk was conducted at the Jurong Regional Library on 17.11.12

First off, this isn’t going to be some kind of detailed review/analysis on the talk itself but rather more of a short recount along with some personal afterthoughts. Now that I’ve clarified that, let’s get down to business shall we?

Honestly, really honestly speaking, there was little to no reason for me to attend this talk in the first place, and even after the talk this notion didn’t change at all. Here’s why: Rehashing. Although I arrived roughly half an hour late, I don’t think I missed much at all considering that half the talk was basically DC on his life story, how he came to learn the language and subsequently his path to being the icon he is today (most of which I have already read on his website). The other half was basically DC advertising marketing himself to the audience on various topics which I have already seen during his panel at AFA a week ago. I have nothing against the recycling of presentation slides or his 314th run through of his success stories, as majority of the audience are actually his followers (surprise surprise) who have probably heard his talks many more times than I have. This is the biggest irony – The talk was probably meant to get the crowd into this whole “Japanese Culture” thing, however as most of the audience including myself have probably heard his stories before, was the true objective of this talk met?

In a nutshell, I wasn’t there for the contents of the talk, nor any of his loyal followers are for that matter (well maybe they are). So what was I there for? I’m not a “follower” so to speak, not some random passerby who happened to be at the right place at the right time, but rather taking up the role of an observer. Watching personalities interact with the masses is something that I’ve always been interested in. In this case, how does DC conduct his speeches in such a way that it remains entertaining, funny, interactive despite the content being reused over and over again?

I’m not going to go in-depth into the conclusions of my observation as typing all these intangible thoughts would be long-winded enough to be an article on its own. The purpose of this post wasn’t to do that anyway – I just wanted to do a personal recount of what my eyes have seen and what my ears have heard.

Moving on, the only new “insight” that could be gained came from the Q&A, which seemed to be never-ending. Most of the questions were irrelevant, poorly thought out, even awkward at times. So the point of observation is this: how does one handle such questions that fall into the aforementioned categories? Most of the Q&A that I’ve seen or read often have similarities in which they are answered, being politically correct is one of the most common features for obvious reasons.

Finally, the talk concluded roughly after about 2.5 hours (that’s quite a lot to talk about) and guess what: yet another queue was formed.” Well, nothing much to say here, as long as people feel that what they’re queuing for is worth it, then so be it. In the end, as I ask myself: what is the point of this post? I realized I don’t really have a concrete answer for that. For me, this was more of a “I have nothing better to do” kind of deal but hey at least I chose to say yes instead of no, that in itself is like a moral victory for me.

About LordLightnDark

Professional troll by day. Enigmatic soul by night. A silent guardian. A watchful protector. A Dark Light. やりたい事とやるべき事が一致する時、世界の声が聞こえる
This entry was posted in Others and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

