After Spring comes Summer

Foreword:
This post might appear to be slightly wordy due to the post having no little pictures, since it is a hassle to add in via the phone (added in via the PC though!). I will break the content down into sections so feel free to read whatever that appeals.

Spring review:
A ranking list based on what series I enjoyed the most and a short reasoning behind it. On-going series excluded.


1. Fate Zero

I think it is to no one’s surprise that F/Z ranks top as it is generally the fan favourite, with a captivating story and stunning animation to back it up. Popular shows are popular for a reason, and F/Z manages to live up to the hype. I don’t really need to say more.

2. Tasogare Otome x Amnesia
TOxA comes in at no.2 simply because Yuuko is just that awesome. Although the first half seems quite random with minimal plot development, the second half is what truly made this series such a great watch once the main story came into the picture.

3. Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? OF THE DEAD
Zombie started out promising, the gags were golden, but the bizarre ending kinda affected its ratings. Despite that, the stellar cast of characters; really funny jokes still makes this a worthwhile watch for fans of the comedy genre.

4. Zetman
Surprisingly, this particular seinen show is very entertaining even though I did not have much expectations initially. As a non-manga reader I still could tell that a whole lot of content was skipped but I would say that Zetman definitely exceeded expectations.

5. Saki: Achiga-hen episode of Side-A
Little girls playing mahjong, what else is there to say? Oh they have those ridiculously overpowered abilities that take away the fun from playing mahjong though watching it on the other hand is a totally different story.

6. Haiyore! Nyaruko-san
Best parody anime I’ve seen in a while, not that I’ve watched many of these. Rather episodic in nature but the sheer amount of references, yuri and even yaoi vibes makes Nyaruko-san a decent watch at the very least.

7. Sankarea
Solid adaptation that follows the original closely, however the slow pace and inclusion of original content that felt out-of-place kinda made this a painful watch at certain times. Good standard romance with a sprinkle of comedy and fan-service every now and then.

8. Medaka Box
I don’t know what to really say about this, other than the point that I liked Medaka’s character more than I thought I would. The initial episodes seemed to be themed around school-life but the sudden shift into the shounen genre with all the fighting towards the end really make me wonder – what exactly is Medaka Box trying to achieve, and yes I did hear some stories about the manga itself regarding that too.

9. Mouretsu Pirates
At this time of writing I am still on ep 20 out of 26 and suffice to say that speaks a lot of how much I enjoy watching this anime. I know of many who enjoyed the whole space opera kind of thing, but to me the overall pacing felt too slow and slice-of-lifeish without the presence of an overarching plot. Certain arcs were boring although some of them were actually really worth the watch. I would say it comes down to a hit-miss kinda deal regarding Pirates as a whole.

On (possible perma) hold:

Jormungand
I’ve put this on hold since I’m not really a fan of guns nor the military themes., the opening episode didn’t leave an overly positive impression as well. Might check this out again before the second half airs.

Shining Hearts: Shiawase no Pan
Really beautiful visuals and animation but that is about it, I guess Tony Taka’s artwork and faithful rendition of it isn’t quite enough to get me to continue watching this on a weekly basis.

Queen’s Blade: Rebellion
The only reason why I even bothered to watch this is because of the boobs plot. Don’t ask me why but somehow I managed to finish the first two seasons in the past so not continuing with the story doesn’t sit well with me as I’m a perfectionist. Will marathon once I have the time since the subs were very delayed which is also part of the reason why.

Summer preview:
My picks and why.

Rinne no Lagrange 2
This was one of the rare times where I actually marathon a series based on what people have said about it. In S1 the first few episodes were very forgettable hence I initially stopped watching after ep1 but as there was literally not much of a conclusion in S1, hopefully this continuation will give us the answers we’re looking for.

Binbougami ga!
Comedy with a setting that is more different from the norm along with Hana Kana so why not?

Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate
Romance/Comedy + Harem + School-life + Adaptation. Although this is as mainstream as it can get, the cast is quite stellar though which is also a huge plus when it comes to genres like these.

Kono Naka ni Hitori, Imouto ga Iru!
Romance/Comedy + Harem + Fan-service. This looks familiar (looks up), basically they’re both fairly similar with only ecchi as the main difference, the cast featured here is different but still stellar nonetheless.

Hagure Yuusha no Estetica
The title and cover picture totally misled me to thinking that this is a standard shounen; action genre type of show. Hell no, after watching the PV this is literally ecchi stacked on top of ecchi and closer to borderline H. I’m having qualms about covering this but I’m really curious to see how far will the boundaries be pushed since the level of ecchi I’m talking about rivals “legends” like Yosuga no Sora / Seikon no Qwaser (not that I’ve watched either of those).

Dakara Boku wa, H ga Dekinai.
The lesser of two evils when compared to Estetica, but still high on the ecchi levels all the same. The main difference is what I would term as “tasteful” fan-service, in that it isn’t shoved right into the viewers face till the point where it actually gets repetitive. The manga was a decent read so gotta check out how this adaptation turns out to be.

Campione!
Finally, the typical shounen; action; fantasy-type of show that is more or less a mainstay in every season. Features a cast with big names and the premise doesn’t sound too awful so I’m giving this a watch.

DOG DAYS’
The only real reason why I watched S1 was because of the really stellar cast (biggest of the big names), the actual plot itself feels extremely lacking, but once again I do not like to leave stories unfinished thus I’m watching this to see how the plot progresses from where it has left off.

Sword Art Online
Probably the “must-watch” of the season, if you liked watching Accel World then this is definitely going to be a must since both LNs are written by the same author.

Kokoro Connect
Probably the second “must-watch” of the season after SAO. Decent cast, gender-bender shows aren’t really a common sight these days, definitely going to be an interesting watch to see what direction this anime is headed in.

Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon II
Another one of those continuation-type of series that I am following. Can be extremely complex to understand at times due to the nature of the series (a LN with 1000+ pages, a whole lot of content skipped, background information not explained), nonetheless despite all these shortcomings Horizon still manages to be a good watch once a certain level of understanding is achieved (hell I still don’t remember most of the cast yet).

Closing thoughts:
This post is late, I know it. I’m still trying to adjust to this kind of weekly schedule and honestly it isn’t easy especially considering that I fall under the “lazy blogger” category. Once I catch up on the backlogs I should be alright though.

This first three months wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be, at times things are smooth sailing and at other times obstacles such as fatigue; real-life commitments start to pop up and once the backlog starts snowballing it really becomes a nightmare. Fret not, I’ve learned that I should not bite more than I can chew, therefore I’m only going to cover 3-4 shows this season (with the exceptions of First Impression posts).

When it comes to writing, I’m by no means a good writer (far from it I would say), although I’m attempting to improve my writing style slowly and steadily. I’m by no means an efficient/disciplined blogger as well since I still spend hours working on a post (including distractions) as I tend to procrastinate. However deep down inside I try really hard to get the posts out with quality and not just quantity (although these days I tend to favor shorter posts with “quality” over longer posts with “quantity”).

If you like what you’ve read so far, please continue to support this site! I haven’t had the time to advertise/promote this site because I’m not too confident with my works just yet and also due to the “lack” of time. I’ll get everything up to speed ASAP so I can start to toy around with new ideas (been thinking about those for a while now). Thanks for reading and do feel free to spread the word around, I’ll deeply appreciate that!

About LordLightnDark

Professional troll by day. Enigmatic soul by night. A silent guardian. A watchful protector. A Dark Light. やりたい事とやるべき事が一致する時、世界の声が聞こえる
This entry was posted in Anime, Season Preview, Season Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to After Spring comes Summer

  1. Pingback: Back into the fray – Spring 2013 Preview |

Leave a Reply

