Tasogare Otome x Amnesia 5

Why. Why. Why did this happen!

 

 

 

Last week was the classic summer camp + swimming pool episode. This week – Cultural Festival episode. Banzai!

I’m being Captain Obvious here, but what are the staples of the typical cultural festival episodes? Haunted house – there we go. Maid cafe – present. Not a whole lot to say about those, though it is kind of ironical for Yuuko to be the actual ghost and the Paranormal Investigation Club to be the one doing the haunted house. Worth every single penny for a good scare though!

Interestingly enough, the main heroine of this episode is actually Yuuko Kirie. I wonder if we will get an episode with Okonogi the next time, since she seems to be relegated as a comic relief. Kirie definitely earned more points in my book after this, even though her character is already likeable to begin with. One moment she was trying to act all tough and the next, awww. Her klutzy maid antics were also a sure-kill, damn she is so good at that “welcome back onii-chan” line I have to admit.

So I have something to confess, I actually saw the screen caps of this episode before actually getting down to watching it due to *insert some excuse here*. Point being, I got tricked! I thought the maid Kirie was actually Yuuko before I knew what actually transpired, and on closer inspection they are virtually identical except for a certain area Kirie is so conscious about.

Thankfully TOxA still managed to retain some of its mystery and the darker feel as there was the mystery of the heartless anatomical model, except that it wasn’t really a mystery. The darker feel though, is something real as we caught a glimpse of Kirie’s fears as she became yet another victim to the haunted house.

I’m really glad that there is still some seriousness in the later portions of the episode (her fears along with her conversation with Teiichi), while I do enjoy the comedic moments very much, I can’t help but feel that they have once again strayed away from the main plot and once again this is probably some random filler chapter in the manga. 5 episodes in (which is also almost the halfway mark), there still isn’t much action going on regarding the mysterious shadow or more on Yuuko herself. I have mentioned it before, and I will say it again: I can and will absolutely watch this series just for Yuuko! But in order to maintain its top 3 favourite-of-the-season in my heart, they better start to pull out the big guns.

Random thoughts:

  • The animation in this episode was very sloppy, all the distant faces were so badly drawn. I am disappoint.
  • I will definitely read the manga after this series ends, but no matter how I look at it, things won’t be the same without the voice acting of Yuuko and to lesser extent, Kirie and Okonogi.
  • Seriously, with that wig she is an identical clone to Yuuko! Disregarding you-know-what of course..
  • The “mystery” was solved after all. Though Kirie doesn’t buy it.
About LordLightnDark

Professional troll by day. Enigmatic soul by night. A silent guardian. A watchful protector. A Dark Light. やりたい事とやるべき事が一致する時、世界の声が聞こえる
This entry was posted in Anime, Tasogare Otome x Amnesia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tasogare Otome x Amnesia 5

  1. Justin says:

    I’m sorry. But I ended up putting this show on hold after this episode. Getting a similar vibe to a show I ended up disliking in C3. At this point, I think I need to re-read the manga again 😦

    • I understand that the adaptation may not be everyone’s cup of tea with the added fanservice and general lack of plot..Indeed I’ll also have to read the manga to know what has changed, I did flip through a couple of chapters for direct comparison and I can already tell the difference. I’m quite disappointed that they aren’t focusing on the main storyline yet but I’m crossing my fingers 🙂

Leave a Reply

